EPLO announces the GLOBAL RULE OF LAW COMMISSION at the United Nations on 14 November 2022

In these cases, the Commission aims to discuss with the relevant State authorities how the Rule of Law is applied in their countries, the limits within which variations can reasonably depend on cultural differences, and the limits beyond which such variations go beyond the accepted common ground. The Commission will produce an annual report on the Rule of Law, officially presented yearly at the Sixth Committee of the UN General Assembly.

The GRoLC comprises of 20 personalities from around the world according to the principle of geographical representation and is chaired by Giuliano Amato, former President of the Constitutional Court of Italy and former Prime Minister of Italy. The members appointed by the Board of Directors of the EPLO are as follows: seven from the Western European and Others Group – Marco D’ Alberti, Justice of the Constitutional Court of Italy, Ana M. Guerra Martins, Judge at the European Court of Human Rights and Full Professor at the Law School of the University of Lisbon, Portugal; Luis María Díez-Picazo, Judge of the Supreme Court of Spain, David Feldman, Emeritus Professor at the University of Cambridge, United Kingdom, Spyridon Flogaitis, EPLO Director, Professor at the National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, Greece, Wojciech Sadurski, Challis Professor of Jurisprudence at the University of Sydney, Australia and Professor at the Centre for Europe in the University of Warsaw, Republic of Poland and Andreas Mavroyiannis, Ambassador (ad.hon.), Member of the UN International Law Commission, Republic of Cyprus; two from the Eastern European Group – Josip Brkic, Deputy Minister in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Bosnia and Herzegovina and Mikheil Sarjveladze, Member of the Parliament of Georgia and Chairman of the Human Rights and Civil Integration Committee; two from the Asian Group – Pan-Suk Kim, Professor Emeritus at Yonsei University in South Korea, International Fellow of the National Academy of Public Administration in Washington DC, Commission Member of the International Civil Service Commission of the United Nations, and Vishnu Varunyou, Vice President of the Supreme Administrative Court of the Kingdom of Thailand; four from the African Group – Carlos Feijó, Full Professor of Law at the University of Agostinho Neto in Angola, Jorge Carlos Fonseca, former President of Cape Verde, Raychelle Omamo, Ambassador-former Cabinet Secretary/Minister of Foreign Affairs, Republic of Kenya and Lúcia da Luz Ribeiro, President of the Constitutional Court of Mozambique and Professor at the Law Faculty of Eduardo Mondlane; four from Latin and Central America and Pacific – Allan Brewer-Carías, Emeritus Professor at the Central University of Venezuela, President Laura Chinchilla, former President of Costa Rica, Vice President of World Leadership Alliance – Club De Madrid, President of the Analítica Consultores, Gilmar Mendes, Justice of the Supreme Court of Brazil and Marisol Peña Torres, former President of the Constitutional Court of Chile and Professor at the Pontifical Catholic University of Chile. Their office is honorary and discretionary. The Commission operates from the EPLO’s Regional Branch in Cascais, Portugal and is assisted by the Institute of the Global Rule of Law.